Disney’s Eight Below- 2006

Eight Below. zivotinjsko

This is a great family adventure, directed by Frank Marshall, starring Paul Walker, Bruce Greenwood, Moon Bloodgood, and Jason Biggs.  Eight Below is based on a true story. An Antarctic expedition is halted when a storm blows in during the harshest of Winter months.   Expedition guide Jerry Shepard must leave his dogs because there isn’t enough resources to go back and save them. He vows to return and rescue these dogs, no matter what, because they have become a part of his family. This is a compelling story of courage, strength and revelation.

Ode to Paul Walker. I regret not watching this movie earlier. But now I have had the chance. Normally, I would not have sought out this movie, but in the wake of the tragedy of the death of  Walker, I decided to explore this film. I am so glad that I did. I was overjoyed and surprised that this movie was still on the shelf at our local library. Believe me. I checked for the others also. Your Fast and Furious’s and Into the Blue’s were all gone. Most of the interviews  about other movies I have seen.  This one stood out as one that I should check out,  as he took a personal interest in this film because of its beautiful scenery, wonderful cast, and its connection with wild life.

Over the past week and a half I have discovered  not just about Walker’s interests but about his generosity, attention to detail, connection to wildlife/oceanlife and compassion for helping  others in need (R.OW.W.- an relief organization for communities of natural disasters) . I have to admit this is very impressive and feel as though he wanted to keep his contributions under wraps. I know that there are other people that have done great works too, but I have to applaud his efforts in using his resources for helping the world be a better place.

Leave a comment